chakra balancing

Chakra Balancing


Today we’re looking at our chakras – our energy centers! If you are interested in learning how to balance your own chakras, or if you’re perhaps a yoga or meditation teacher wishing to integrate chakra balancing techniques into your classes, you have come to the right place! I will return to each explore each chakra in more depth soon, so please make sure to subscribe to Love Guidance Daily so that you receive notifications about new subjects. Love Guidance Daily now has a daily edition!

So, what is a chakra?

In Sanskrit chakra means “wheel”. In spiritual discussions, the word chakra refers to the energy centers that are located throughout our body, swirling like wheels, vibrating with Prana, energy life force.

We have 7 main chakras, located along the spine, beginning at the base of the spine and going up to the crown of our head. Our chakras correspond to the physical – our nerves, the psychological – our feelings, the emotional – our reactions – and the spiritual – our state of well-being. The energy is ever flowing between the chakras and it is extremely important for the chakras to be open, radiant and balanced. If a blockage occurs, it interrupts with the entire energy system in the body and we risk getting sick, stressed, tired, or depressed.

If we for example are going through a romantic break-up, and try to run away from the pain instead of facing it, that may create a blockage in our heart chakra, which could make us feel closed and distrusting. On a physical level we may become extra susceptible to cough. In those instances it’s of tremendous help to be honest, compassionate, and loving with ourselves and give ourselves the time we need to grieve from the broken relationship, while healing the chakra.

How do we balance our chakras?

There are many ways to balance our chakras.

Yoga poses are wondrous for the opening of our chakras, and really help enhance the flow in our bodies, and can also help clear out blockages. It is a magnificent feeling visualizing the energy center opening as a swirling wheel, vibrating with the color frequency of that particular chakra while doing associated poses.

We can also visualize healing light entering our chakra during a meditation – this is one of my personal favorites. Whenever I feel out of balance, I go through each chakra and visualize sparkling white light entering the chakras, and I also visualize them opening and swirling in their respective colors.

As a blockage can be felt on a physical, psychological and spiritual plane is is very helpful to get ourselves to a place of observation, where we can feel how it would feel if  we felt loved, safe, open etc. – and then stay in that frequency as much as possible.

The key to healing is to align our vibrational frequency to where we want to be.

What are the names of the chakras, and where are they?

Our first chakra is our Root Chakra, also known as the Muladhara Chakra.

It is located at the bottom of the spine and vibrates with a deep red color. It is associated with the fulfillment of needs, physical survival and psychological safety. If your root chakra is out of balance you may feel stuck, you may experience that you don’t belong, feel dependent, anxious, and concerned about your financial situation or general level of safety.

Our second chakra is our Sacral Chakra, also known as the Svadisthana Chakra.

It is located just above our base, below our navel, and vibrates with an intense orange color. It is related to sexual energy and creative expression, and manifests as creative energy. If it is out of balance we may suffer from sexual problems, feel unable to blossom into our full potential, and difficulties expressing yourself.

Our third chakra is our Solar Plexus Chakra, also known as the Manipura Chakra.

It is located just above the navel, and vibrates like a yellow sun. This is our personal power center. It is is out of balance you may feel powerless, controlled, and stressed.

Our fourth chakra is our Heart Chakra, also known as the Anahata Chakra.

It is located in our chest area, just over our heart, and vibrates with a beautiful green emerald color, with a center of pink. It relates to our love, compassion and connection with ourselves, and others. If your heart chakra is out of balance you may experience doubts, feel disconnected, and closed down.

Our fifth chakra is our Throat Chakra, also known as our Vishuddha Chakra.

It is located at the base of the throat, and vibrates with a bright sky blue, turquoise color. It relates to our ability to live in truth, to speak our truth, and be honest with ourselves. If your throat chakra is out of balance you may have difficulties expressing yourself verbally, and find it hard accepting yourself the way you are, and being honest about how you really feel.

Our sixth chakra is our Third Eye Chakra, also known as Ajna Chakra.

It is located between our eyes, and vibrates with a deep indigo blue color. This is our intuitive center. If it’s out of balance we may not be able to clearly what is really going on, and not listen to the guidance and messages that are there for us.

Our seventh chakra is our Crown Chakra, also known as Sahasrara Chakra.

It is located on top of our heads, and vibrates with the colors of purple, white and gold. It is our connection to our higher selves, the divine, and everything around us and inside us. If it is blocked, we may have a difficult time feeling ourselves, who we really are, and feel disconnected from our divine source.

In an upcoming edition about chakra balancing, you’ll be invited on a deeper journey where we’ll explore some healing modalities for each chakra, meditation techniques and affirmations we can use to help us get back to our pure state of loving alignment.

With Love & Gratitude,

Anna-Karin, xo

Anna-Karin Bjorklund, M.A.

Anna-Karin Bjorklund is a writer and dream expert based in Newport Beach, California. An intrepid world traveler, she has lived in five countries and loves exploring different cultures and connecting with people. Her latest book, The Dream Alchemist: A woman’s search for love, bliss and freedom across India, time and dreams, is a memoir based on a spiritual journey to India and the philosophical remnants of stepping into her power and finding the path of self-love. She is also the author of Dream Guidance: Interpret Your Dreams and Create the Life You Desire! Anna-Karin loves sharing her passion for dreams and personal growth with audiences near and far, and has made expert appearances on Fox & Friends, and the Steve Harvey TV Show on NBC, and been interviewed by Orange Coast Magazine, Women’s Running Magazine, Money Magazine, Daily Worth, Marie Claire UK and other media outlets.

The Dream Alchemist

The Dream Alchemist

Dream Guidance

Dream Guidance












Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s